womp WOO!

by shitfiresavematches

Yesterday, or two days ago, I was fired from my job. But I’d like to think I got myself fired. It was hardly fired, more like fucked over.

I began working for this education non-profit on May 14th. My boss began as a nice enough guy – a bit long-winded, but nothing major. Over the course of a few days he began grating on my nerves when he would actually dictate emails to me over the telephone like I had never written one in my life (even telling me how to end it – warmest regards. FUCK YOU) and literally spell things out for me.

I immediately told him he didn’t need to do that and that I didn’t need hand-holding, but he was insistent. All the while, he was ignoring any conversation I tried to have regarding pay.

We agreed on a set amount in the beginning and one month after I had been working there he asked if he could lower my pay. I told him I wouldn’t agree to anything until I even got paid for the month of May.

Somehow he decided to lower it without asking me and had the nerve to try to give me back pay at some new made-up rate. I finally snapped when he called me to read an email he had just sent 7 minutes ago that was pretty much the most accusatory and passive-aggressive thing.

He had me read it while I was on the phone with him. I read it and said, ‘”Okay, but I need to talk to you about something…”. I told him he’s not the first white man to try to screw a minority woman over when it comes to pay. And just because he wants to call me an Independent Contractor doesn’t make it so – certain criteria has to be filled. He hung up on me

So that’s over with and I think I lost my wallet tonight. Tim was upset that I wasn’t so upset, but what can I do?

 

